Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Halo modding and gaming related applications.
nil
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Location: null zone

Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by nil » Mon May 20, 2013 10:01 am

Check out this app created by DeadHamster. It has a Mac download.
I am no longer active to Halo or MGM, and don't guarantee a response on the forums or through email. I will however linger around the discord room for general chatting. It's been fun!

User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by Sparky » Tue May 21, 2013 8:08 am

The older version was buggy and unusable except for using with the default bloodgulch map. This version 3.0 claims to have been corrected :D
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

rEsTnPeAcEz
Veteran
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 12:34 pm
Location: Canada EHH

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by rEsTnPeAcEz » Tue May 21, 2013 6:27 pm

Instead use Eschaton or a scenario editor to move spawn points, this app uses values which can slow down modding.

User avatar
Modzy
Green Beret
Posts: 3058
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by Modzy » Tue May 21, 2013 7:03 pm

rEsTnPeAcEz wrote:Instead use Eschaton or a scenario editor to move spawn points, this app uses values which can slow down modding.
Pretty sure this app speeds up modding.

User avatar
TaxiService
Night Stalker
Posts: 6887
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:52 am
Location: 41.896198, 12.4165945
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by TaxiService » Wed May 22, 2013 12:02 am

EDIT: YO, I GOT CONFUSED WITH MINECRAFT'S [strike]RETARDED[/strike] perfectly logical COORDINATE SYSTEM, SO IN THIS POST Y AND Z AXES ARE SWAPPED! KEEP THAT IN MIND!


When i have to move spawn points I edit each one of them in eschaton assigning them specific coordinates depending from what team and gametype they spawn.

Like, let's say i have 48 player spawns. I'd do something like this:
  • ##-## - coordinates - gametype flags
    01-08 - [0, 0, <0-7>] - red, ctf only
    09-16 - [1, 0, <0-7>] - blue, ctf only
    17-24 - [0, 1, <0-7>] - red, all but ctf
    25-32 - [1, 1, <0-7>] - blue, all but ctf
    33-40 - [0, 2 ,<0-7>] - red, all gametypes
    41-48 - [1, 2 ,<0-7>] - red, all gametypes
What happens is this.
  • Image
It's basically a three dimensional matrix. It's easy to determine which spawn is which, since for example the spawns with Y:2 spawn players in all gametypes, the ones with X:1 are blue, and so on! Knowing these things allow you to have more control on what happens in your map. (so then you can just use sparkedit or swordedit to move things around)

...if there was a program that did this, it'd be really nice.
Last edited by TaxiService on Wed May 22, 2013 9:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
  • TaxiService! Shitposting since 2007!
MGM Sig

User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by Sparky » Wed May 22, 2013 7:41 am

Taxi, if you rotate that image 90 degrees counter-clockwise, so that the Z axis is vertical as it is in the game, the image would be easier to understand.

More bulk processing of the metadata values would be nice to add to Marvin's program, which would use a single interface of the metadata options and apply them when the user clicks the "apply" button. Such batch processing would be most suitable for .map files rather than groups of tag files.
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

User avatar
TaxiService
Night Stalker
Posts: 6887
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:52 am
Location: 41.896198, 12.4165945
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by TaxiService » Wed May 22, 2013 7:52 am

oh holy SHIT!!!!!!!! Sorry!!!!!!!! i got confused with minecraft's
retarded
perfectly logical axes system :sweating: GOMENASAI!!!!!!

MY POST IS WRONG, SORRY! IT WORKS IF YOU SWAP Y FOR Z THOUGH!!!!!!!!!
Last edited by TaxiService on Wed May 22, 2013 9:37 am, edited 2 times in total.
  • TaxiService! Shitposting since 2007!
MGM Sig

nil
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Location: null zone

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by nil » Wed May 22, 2013 7:57 am

Don't rant at minecraft's axis system when it's logical =P.
I am no longer active to Halo or MGM, and don't guarantee a response on the forums or through email. I will however linger around the discord room for general chatting. It's been fun!

User avatar
TaxiService
Night Stalker
Posts: 6887
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:52 am
Location: 41.896198, 12.4165945
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by TaxiService » Wed May 22, 2013 9:36 am

Shit! you're correct!!! Halo's system is retarded!!!!!! Aaaauugghghhhh I defined it as retarded because i used the wrong axes system and since minecraft uses the other one i mistook that as the retarded one... but fuck, you're right!!!!!

Sorry!!! I just get super confused about things!!! X(
  • TaxiService! Shitposting since 2007!
MGM Sig

nil
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Location: null zone

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by nil » Thu May 23, 2013 10:39 am

But changing the coordinate system to swap y and z is also common and makes some sense going from a 2D -> 3D perspective, so neither is dumb.
I am no longer active to Halo or MGM, and don't guarantee a response on the forums or through email. I will however linger around the discord room for general chatting. It's been fun!

User avatar
TaxiService
Night Stalker
Posts: 6887
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:52 am
Location: 41.896198, 12.4165945
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by TaxiService » Thu May 23, 2013 1:46 pm

what if X was the vertical axis? would it be dumb then?


a system where positive values would go downwards/leftwards would probably be the dumbest.
  • TaxiService! Shitposting since 2007!
MGM Sig

User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by Sparky » Sun May 26, 2013 12:51 am

Actually, the game Dofus ... nevermind, I think this rambling has gone on long enough.
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by Sparky » Sun May 26, 2013 12:55 am

rEsTnPeAcEz wrote:Instead use Eschaton or a scenario editor to move spawn points, this app uses values which can slow down modding.
I agree that this functionality should be added instead to a scenario editor like swordedit or Eschaton. It will be included in Zeus's batch processing options for scnr tags, which is also batch processing for scnr tags in map files. In Zeus, you can replicate the metadata values of reflexives and entire tags using batch processing.
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

002
Ranger
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Illudium - For Moving Spawn Points...

Post by 002 » Sun May 26, 2013 6:00 am

rEsTnPeAcEz wrote:Instead use Eschaton or a scenario editor to move spawn points, this app uses values which can slow down modding.
*facecinderblock* Have you even TRIED the application yet? What you do is you get a location out of Eschaton (or two if you want to do it per team), then you input it to Illudium and it moves all of the other spawn points there. It's actually 75x faster than using Eschaton and it is made to heavily speed up modding.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests