swordedit: An Update

Halo modding and gaming related applications.
Devious
Commando
Posts: 2020
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:06 pm
Location: RaInBOw

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Devious » Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:05 pm

I will never give up my taxi quote, It is my prized possession. :D

Nice to see swordedit is getting updated. Good work
The armaments which thunderstrike the walls
And monarchs tremble in their capitals.
The oak leviathans, whose huge ribs make
Of lord of thee, and arbiter of war;
Alike the Armada's pride, or spoils of Trafalgar.

Fonzeh
Ranger
Posts: 1894
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:57 am
Location: "I didn't just take your mom out to dinner. I ate your mom for dinner."
Contact:

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Fonzeh » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:41 am

My GUI was made Mainly for Leopard and for people with Very Small Screens.

I can make a Tiger version without the brushed metal if it is truly wanted.

Leopard version is sexy, Tiger and Panther is nasty I agree.

But still, no offense to sword, but its a lot better than the original, at least i think.
G[v]N wrote:HUGE NOTIFICATION
THIS GRAVY HAS BRAINS
Mota-Lev was here 30/4/2010@2:18pm
Image

G[v]N
Green Beret
Posts: 3460
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:18 am
Location: Ò_ô

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by G[v]N » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:55 am

Offtopic: Oh, too bad. You guys will have to settle with my quotes. ¬_¬

*cough* I'm not a piece of quote *coughmeatlulz* [/lame]

Ontopic: Somehow, I still like Sword's GUI better. Maybe it's because Fonzie uses that brushed metal skin that we're all talking about. Personally, I like 'cleaner' skins :P
Image
Moxus wrote:Many thanks to the people who have made my years on MGM and on Halo Demo so memorable.

sword
Ranger
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:53 pm

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by sword » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:49 pm

Hey, I thought it would be worth it to throw out a reason why I haven't been updating anything lately. I managed to break my laptop's keyboard again, and the trackpad is busted as well, so for quite a while now it's been far too annoying to do any decent work on this rig. Moreover, I've got 5 AP tests over the next two weeks, so my classes have been in prep mode for those during the past month(s).

Once I get a new laptop for college I'll start work on a new swordedit. I had some genius idea the other day about how to rework the entire code setup, but I was such a genius that I forgot to write it down, so I promptly forgot my idea. Maybe I'll get lucky and the idea will come back in a dream, like some of the code you guys have access to did. It was so weird; I'd wake up some mornings and have code in my mind that I had been trying to write the night before.

Oh yeah, I also haven't programmed since, what, last summer? This will be fun. I still need to bitch at apple for not validating my iphone developer application fully, even though I've payed them the fee already.

I guess I should get the new laptop first so I have somewhere to develop.

Oh yeah, did I mention that I'm going to college starting late August? I'd love to meet anyone on the upper west side of NYC.

Edit: I just remembered. The idea was how to better implement scenario definitions in swordedit to deal with endianness. The released version used little-endian position definitions (No clue if that makes sense to anyone other than me right now) in the scenario, not big endian as the data is after being loaded into memory. So yeah, I can get on that too.
The sword.

Image

Smythe
Commando
Posts: 2429
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 12:52 am
Location: 'Straya Mate

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Smythe » Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:38 pm

Try not to get angry at the keyboard again. it will make life harder for everyone.
Image

Fonzeh
Ranger
Posts: 1894
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:57 am
Location: "I didn't just take your mom out to dinner. I ate your mom for dinner."
Contact:

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Fonzeh » Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:26 am

My GUI editing skills remain at your disposal sword.
G[v]N wrote:HUGE NOTIFICATION
THIS GRAVY HAS BRAINS
Mota-Lev was here 30/4/2010@2:18pm
Image

Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Sparky » Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:16 am

Fonzie wrote:My GUI editing skills remain at your disposal sword.
Be sure to include pretty pictures... pretty please *bats eyelids*. .````:)
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

Smythe
Commando
Posts: 2429
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 12:52 am
Location: 'Straya Mate

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Smythe » Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:47 pm

And how about a preference pane and not that annoying thing that appears. or is that in help?
Image

Samuco

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Samuco » Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:37 am

Had a quick look at the code for the original sword edit. The selection code was pretty simple to fix.
Here's the new code:

- (void)mouseDown:(NSEvent *)event
{
NSPoint downPoint = [event locationInWindow];
NSPoint local_point = [self convertPoint:downPoint fromView:nil];
prevDown = [NSEvent mouseLocation];

if (_mode == select && _mapfile)
[self trySelection:local_point shiftDown:(([event modifierFlags] & NSShiftKeyMask) != 0)];
}

And remove this from trySelection:
// Adjustment that, for some reason, is necessary.
downPoint.x -= 25.0f;
downPoint.y -= 71.0f;

So far it works for me =)

-Samuco (http://www.samuco.net)

nil
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Location: null zone

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by nil » Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:46 am

Nice bug find. Looks like sword didn't convert the mouse location from the view to the window coordinate system, and made an adjustment 'workaround' by changing the point by some offset. Or something.

While we're at it, I'll post some fixes I found:

Code: Select all

// in BspMesh.m:306
str = [NSString stringWithFormat:@"g Submesh_%d\n", i];
[str release];
^ That's obviously a bug, str shouldn't be released.

Code: Select all

// in SpawnEditorController.m:185
else if (currentView == machineSpawnView)
{
	if (tableView = m_spawnListTable)
		return [NSString stringWithFormat:@"Machine: [%d]", row];
}
Should be tableView == m_spawnListTable. Evil typo indeed.

Code: Select all

- (BOOL)checkIsPPC
{
	return (CFByteOrderGetCurrent() == CFByteOrderBigEndian);
}
This is what this method should be, more or less. The current implementation is a hack that reads some data from the executable and sees what the contents are.
I am no longer active to Halo or MGM, and don't guarantee a response on the forums or through email. I will however linger around the discord room for general chatting. It's been fun!

Samuco

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Samuco » Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:34 am

Nice ;)

Working on a new interface currently. Similar to this forum :roll: .

-Samuco (http://www.samuco.net)

Samuco

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Samuco » Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:36 pm

Image

Dirk

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Dirk » Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:01 pm

Ew. HUD does not work with EVERYTHING.

Samuco

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Samuco » Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:16 pm

Exactly. But it works perfectly with this ;)
You need to use it to understand why :wink: .

Modzy
Green Beret
Posts: 3058
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: swordedit: An Update

Post by Modzy » Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:25 pm

Looks interesting. Although I never really had an issue with the old UI. Mainly, the problems with Swordedit are with how it parses the maps themselves. At least in my opinion.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests