View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:36 am



Reply to topic  [ 488 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 33  Next
 HaloMD 
Author Message
HaloMD Dev
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Posts: 890
Location: null zone
Reply with quote
Post HaloMD
Let me bring you HaloMD: an attempt to bring Halo Demo as a universal binary and to Lion users. In other words, a much improved unofficial update to Halo Demo that is free and that also runs on new Macs.

A general overview:
*This should run much better than the Halo Demo because it runs on Intel Macs natively.
*This uses our own lobby. You host games in-game normally, but join games via the launcher.
*This includes Blood Gulch, Barrier, Crossing, and one campaign level - The Silent Cartographer.
**It's easy to install and play other multiplayer mods too.

Image

You can view the HaloMD lobby on the web over here.

I will be posting beta versions. HaloMD requires intel OS X 10.5 (leopard) or later to run.

If you're interesting in porting or making mods for HaloMD, you will need to check out MDRenamer.

If you are interested in MD's source code, it is available on GitHub.

Download

_________________
it's the nil zone!
HaloMD


Last edited by nil on Sun Feb 16, 2014 6:34 pm, edited 73 times in total.

Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:43 am
Profile
Peon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:39 am
Posts: 129
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
1. If HaloMD is able to post servers, why can't it read the HaloMD lobby instead of Halo Full?
2. Can HaloMD load the Mac Demo/PC Trial lobby? (I suspect not)
3. You can use a packet sniffer to find data sent to the gamespy server.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:06 am
Profile
HaloMD Dev
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Posts: 890
Location: null zone
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
Samuco wrote:
1. If HaloMD is able to post servers, why can't it read the HaloMD lobby instead of Halo Full?
2. Can HaloMD load the Mac Demo/PC Trial lobby? (I suspect not)
3. You can use a packet sniffer to find data sent to the gamespy server.


1. HaloMD is modified to using HDM as the server instead of the gamespy server. It contacts a server script I wrote that is running on HDM. The server script does not exactly replicate the server list request gamespy uses. It is just kind of difficult to figure out how to load HaloMD lobby inside the game. The gamespy lobby sends a multiple of UDP packets (sending each one multiple times to make sure they send properly, probably) each containing something like the IP address and port of a game, and the IP and port to the next game to check, and Halo responds back in some acknowledgement manner - but all the data is encrypted, so that makes it all the more challenging. I haven't given much thought to this though, I will check out if I can figure anything out.

2. It is possible to modify the executable such that it loads the Demo or Trial lobby inside the game, but that provides no real benefits because the netcode is incompatible and you won't be able to play with such players.

3. A packet sniffer was used in our research, and I had needed one to create this. Much of our other research was posted in this thread.

I had thought you jumped off a bridge and disappeared, man :).

_________________
it's the nil zone!
HaloMD


Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:19 am
Profile
Delta Force
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: New Jersey, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
nil, post this topic on the HDM main page news and update the bold text on the main page regarding Halo UB Demo. Thanks!

_________________
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:58 am
Profile WWW
Ranger
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:57 am
Posts: 1872
Location: "I didn't just take your mom out to dinner. I ate your mom for dinner."
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
halo pc players can join?

ill be home in u hours, whos hosting? im fuckin down

_________________
G[v]N wrote:
HUGE NOTIFICATION
THIS GRAVY HAS BRAINS

Mota-Lev was here 30/4/2010@2:18pm
Image


Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:26 am
Profile WWW
Peon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:39 am
Posts: 129
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
nil wrote:
1. HaloMD is modified to using HDM as the server instead of the gamespy server. It contacts a server script I wrote that is running on HDM. The server script does not exactly replicate the server list request gamespy uses. It is just kind of difficult to figure out how to load HaloMD lobby inside the game. The gamespy lobby sends a multiple of UDP packets (sending each one multiple times to make sure they send properly, probably) each containing something like the IP address and port of a game, and the IP and port to the next game to check, and Halo responds back in some acknowledgement manner - but all the data is encrypted, so that makes it all the more challenging. I haven't given much thought to this though, I will check out if I can figure anything out.
Script link? ;)

nil wrote:
2. It is possible to modify the executable such that it loads the Demo or Trial lobby inside the game, but that provides no real benefits because the netcode is incompatible and you won't be able to play with such players.
Thought so.

nil wrote:
I had thought you jumped off a bridge and disappeared, man :).
=p


Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:13 pm
Profile
HaloMD Dev
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Posts: 890
Location: null zone
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
I PMed it to you. Not going to open source this stuff yet.
[EDIT]: Updated to support leopard (intel).

_________________
it's the nil zone!
HaloMD


Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:16 pm
Profile
Peon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:39 am
Posts: 129
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
Skype/AIM we can use?
[EDIT]Already have your AIM. Go online ^^


Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:59 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
Hello, HaloMD is a good job, i love it !

But always no games found : ( Because no players ?
And when i create a game, i see my server in HaloMD window ==> "Game Name: Players: ?????? Gametype: ?????? Access: ?????? Ping: ?????? Server Address: (my ip:port) " its normal ?

thanks !


Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:05 am
HaloMD Dev
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:38 am
Posts: 890
Location: null zone
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
TheStrangeGuest wrote:
But always no games found : ( Because no players ?


Yeah.

TheStrangeGuest wrote:
And when i create a game, i see my server in HaloMD window ==> "Game Name: Players: ?????? Gametype: ?????? Access: ?????? Ping: ?????? Server Address: (my ip:port) " its normal ?


You may not be able to host a game because you're likely behind NAT, which means you probably have to do port forwarding on ports 2302 - 2303 UDP. If you're on a network that you don't own, this may not be possible. You'll find this issue hosting for any kind of video game.

(Actually, for an entirely different reason, it could be normal too and your server could be working. The only way to find out is have someone trying to join your game. I'll consider this a bug for now and something I will eventually try to fix, however. [For the technical explanation, some networks will block you if you try to connect to yourself if you're coming from a private IP to a public iP, even if the public IP is you])

Short explanation: For now, it may be normal. :P. Have someone try joining your game. If he can't join, you'll need to try port forwarding.

_________________
it's the nil zone!
HaloMD


Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:19 am
Profile
Green Beret
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:22 pm
Posts: 3758
Location: Mota-Lev's house.
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
o_o. We need to get all of us on a server....

_________________
MGM Sig
Mota-Lev wrote:
Its like watching an Asian girl crush a cats brain through its eye socket with high heels.. Its horrible but I just can't look away :/.


Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:06 pm
Profile WWW
Delta Force
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: New Jersey, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
Amy wrote:
o_o. We need to get all of us on a server....

I guess I'll host one leave it up all day as dedicated.
EDIT: It's up, you can join whenever.
EDIT 2: I'm also on Mumble.

EDIT 3:
nil wrote:
*Bundle other demo mods (eg, crossing) that'd needed to be converted with pearl first (Modzy, again!)
*Icons, graphics, whatever.


Modzy, what's the status of Pearl 2.0 and its conversion capabilities between Halo Demo and Halo Full?

Slapzy, GvN, Taxi... myself included, you've got lots of options for artists for the icons, graphics and whatever.

Also, nil said this build will expire tomorrow, so I'll be hosting all day today.

HaloMD means "Halo Mini Demo", right? I'm thinking about the icon... maybe a masterchief helmet in the mouth of a Lion? Or masterchief helmet with the mane of a Lion colored around it? Or a graphical representation of a shrunken helmet? Eh... or a helmet on the left side, a lightning bolt to its right in the middle area as a divisor forward slash "/", and lots of mini helmets on the right side?

EDIT 4: Looks like I'll be releasing Galaxy Wars as a Halo Full mod rather than a Halo Demo mod after all. Well, that will do better with cross-platform issues anyway.

_________________
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:15 am
Profile WWW
Commando
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:36 am
Posts: 2626
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
This makes me wish I had my computer. can we go over the 16 player limit? good job nil.

_________________
Yarok wrote:
There may be a giant dildo protruding from your forehead.

Image


Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:17 pm
Profile
Delta Force
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: New Jersey, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
i asked Roger Wolfson about that, and we'll see what he says.

_________________
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.


Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:18 pm
Profile WWW
Green Beret
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:22 pm
Posts: 3758
Location: Mota-Lev's house.
Reply with quote
Post Re: HaloMD
Joined sparky's game as some weird name "walla walla"
Hit change settings in-game and the game crashed. Froze and my music (lol) stopped for a couple seconds, then it went back to the server list. ;_;

EDIT: Hit "start" and edited all the settings. Rejoined sparky's game and had a great time haha, thanks nil.

_________________
MGM Sig
Mota-Lev wrote:
Its like watching an Asian girl crush a cats brain through its eye socket with high heels.. Its horrible but I just can't look away :/.


Last edited by Amy on Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:48 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 488 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 33  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
PPowered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.