[Feature Request] Gravity Syncing

Everything about HD, MD, and their mods.

Moderator: Halo Moderators

DrakeWasHere

[Feature Request] Gravity Syncing

Post by DrakeWasHere » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:02 pm

Hello all!

With the new version of SAPP available, gravity is a mutable value that can be changed on-the-fly by an admin.

As of now, there is no way to support syncing this change with HaloMD clients, as the HAC2 changes that allow server-client gravity syncing are not available to use on Mac in its current form, nor does the dev on HAC2 seem to have any interest in working on support for HaloMD.

I was hoping someone with experience writing plugins for HaloMD, or in making changes to MD in general, could comment on the feasibility of such a feature, if there is any work planned to incorporate it, and if not, could provide more information on plug-in development.

I am a software engineer myself, and would be interested on working on this problem, but as of now have no experience with HaloMD's source code, or it's plugins. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Best,
Drake

A Stick

Re: [Feature Request] Gravity Syncing

Post by A Stick » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:44 pm

How did you get a server on Mac?
IGN: a stick
Discord: Stick#9145

DrakeWasHere

Post by DrakeWasHere » Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:46 am

A Stick wrote:How did you get a server on Mac?
My first server was hosted in a VM on my mac, and given a bridged connection in the VirtualBox settings so that I could properly port forward. Trying to mess around with Wine was just too much work when I already had an ISO of windows XP for a VM.

My current one is a dedicated Windows 7 box that I had an extra of.

If you want any help setting up a server, feel free to PM me.

swampy

Post by swampy » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:37 am

DrakeWasHere wrote:
A Stick wrote:How did you get a server on Mac?