How to import and apply NEW MODELS!

Moderator: Altimit01

User avatar
>Shadow<
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:15 pm
Contact:

How to import and apply NEW MODELS!

Post by >Shadow< » Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:42 pm

Special thanks to Beast for the first steps.

Injecting objects into BG:

1. Open bloodgulch.map in HMT.
2. Drop down the mod2 section.
3. Find the object you want to change.
4. Click "Save Meta". Save it to your desktop.
5. Open OBJConverter.
6. Click "Open". First, choose bloodgulch.map and when the window comes up again, choose the meta you just saved to your desktop. It should be in a few folder and will be called [something].mod2. It might have .meta on the end, but I can't remember.
7. Now click the "OBJ" button. Pick your new model. Save the vertices and indices to the desktop.
8. Find the geometry with the most parts. (Usually Geometry 1 or 0.)
9. Find the part inside that geometry with the most vertices and indices.
10. Change the vertices and indices of all parts inside that geometry, BESIDES the one with the most vertices and indices, to zero.
11. Select the part that had the most vertices and indices and click "Update Offsets".
12. Now click the "Attach" button. Pick the vertices and then the indices of your new model.
13. Click "save". Save the file as "temp" on your desktop.
14. Now at the bottom, click the "Misc" tab.
15. Click "append models". (could be "Attach". I can't remember.) Pick your vertices and indices and click "Append" (or "Attach").
16. Quit OBJConverter. Now find the find on your desktop called "temp.mod2". Add ".meta" to that so it becomes "temp.mod2.meta".
17. Open HMT and open bloodgulch.map.
18. Drop down the mod2 section and pick the object who's model you are editing.
19. Click "Inject Meta" and inject the temp.mod2.meta you saved.
20. Now click on "Append Raw" at the bottom and choose the vertices and indices of your new model. Quit HMT.
21. Now the final step for changing models for the demo. When you change the header back to the demo header there is a tiny section you have to update. I'll let you figure this one out.
22. Copy first 4 bytes from the second line into 0x5EC of the demo header.

Now this may LOOK like a colossal amount of work...but really it isn't. It only takes about five minutes. The models you must already have.
Image

User avatar
Pav
Peon
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:34 pm
Contact:

Post by Pav » Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:43 pm

!!!


Yay!! Thanks guys!!
Back in Black (& White).
And every other color in the light spectrum perceptible to the human eye, typically those ranging from 400 nanometers to roughly 700 nanometers in wavelength.

User avatar
>Shadow<
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:15 pm
Contact:

Post by >Shadow< » Tue Dec 05, 2006 4:46 pm

No problem. =)
Image

Trinity.
SEAL
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:13 pm
Location: Rep'n the 863! Winter Haven, FL!

Post by Trinity. » Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:54 pm

22. Copy first 4 bytes from the second line into 0x5EC of the demo header.
When I did that the 4 byte code in the full header was the same as at 0x5EC.

RAWR!!

Please do better next time.

This didn't help me at all...
MGM Team Wraith
Xbox Live Gamertag: HybuR
Professional Halo Player

User avatar
?mike?
Ranger
Posts: 768
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:41 am
Contact:

Post by ?mike? » Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:01 pm

if it is the same that means that that data has not changed. you can just use any demo header.

User avatar
>Shadow<
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:15 pm
Contact:

Post by >Shadow< » Wed Dec 06, 2006 4:49 pm

It works. You just did something wrong with importing the model. Or the model is corrupted. Because I have done at least 20-30 model injects using that. All but a few of them worked. Those few where Xbox models. Make sure that they aren't models made for the Xbox. you are importing.
Image

User avatar
Yummy
Ranger
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:42 pm
Location: Near Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Post by Yummy » Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:46 pm

How did you export? I did recursive export, recursive import. It's not the problem with the model either. It's the problem of finding the offset values.
Image

User avatar
>Shadow<
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:15 pm
Contact:

Post by >Shadow< » Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:00 am

You guys...are you talking about the model importing? 'Cause if you are, THEN READ THE TUTORIAL.
Image

User avatar
Yummy
Ranger
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:42 pm
Location: Near Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Post by Yummy » Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:59 am

Yes i did, and thank you shadow. But, how do you put it into gameplay? A model is useless if it isn't in gameplay...
Image

Trinity.
SEAL
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:13 pm
Location: Rep'n the 863! Winter Haven, FL!

Post by Trinity. » Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:31 pm

Crashed on me...
MGM Team Wraith
Xbox Live Gamertag: HybuR
Professional Halo Player

User avatar
>Shadow<
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:15 pm
Contact:

Post by >Shadow< » Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:14 pm

What? You guys aren't getting this at all are you? -_-
Of course this puts it into the gameplay. Sometimes you have too move closer to the object with the model injected onto.
Image

User avatar
Yummy
Ranger
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:42 pm
Location: Near Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Post by Yummy » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:25 pm

So you're telling me that when i import a model i don't have to swap anything, it automatically figures out spawn points, figures out all those things for me? I don't have to swap it w/ the warthog or anything? I get the importing model part, it's now easy for me.
Image

foxrun
Veteran
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:41 pm

Post by foxrun » Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:09 pm

yeah, this is old news... i knew how to do this way back last june. If u need any help pm me.

Trinity.
SEAL
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:13 pm
Location: Rep'n the 863! Winter Haven, FL!

Post by Trinity. » Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:13 pm

FOXRUN YOUR BACK!!!!

OMG SPEED HAX!!!!

DUDE IM GIVING YOU ACCESS TO TEAM WRAITH RIGHT NOW.

POST EVERYTHING YOU KNOW IN THE "STICKY"!!!!!
MGM Team Wraith
Xbox Live Gamertag: HybuR
Professional Halo Player

User avatar
>Shadow<
Halo Moderator
Halo Moderator
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:15 pm
Contact:

Post by >Shadow< » Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:57 pm

Image

XD
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests