Concept: Wall tool

Halo modding and gaming related applications.
User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Sparky » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:26 am

I did what you said, and it works now. I also linked to the demo bitmaps.map file instead of the full bitmaps.map file this time ;)
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

User avatar
Mgalekgolo
Commando
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:36 am

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Mgalekgolo » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:52 am

Sparky wrote:I'm using:

Mac Pro
Mac OS 10.6.4
One 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor
8 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ram
512 MB ATI Radeon HD 4870 graphics card

...need any other specs?
damn nice ram lol
Yarok wrote:There may be a giant dildo protruding from your forehead.
Image

002
Ranger
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by 002 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:30 am

Map loading takes almost forever but it doesn't crash when loading.


Many people don't have two or three button mouses. Holding control to emulate the right mouse button to change the camera angle causes the movement keys to not respond. This means I can't move and change camera angle simultaneously. Could you at least have some sort of a setting?

Edit: I found a three button mouse somewhere.

Edit 2: When I opened it, it began loading the map again and it crashed.

Samucos

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Samucos » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:27 pm

System specs?

002
Ranger
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by 002 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:11 pm

iMac G5 1.6 GHz - PowerPC
Mac OS X 10.5.8
512MB DDR SDRAM

NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 64 MB


Edit: Problem solved when I deleted the starlight.auto file.

New problem: I have to do this after I load a bloodgulch. Making a .sh script helps automate it, but it's still ridiculous that I have to.

User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Sparky » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:18 pm

002 wrote:iMac G5 1.6 GHz - PowerPC
Mac OS X 10.5.8
512MB DDR SDRAM

NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 64 MB


Edit: Problem solved when I deleted the starlight.auto file.

New problem: I have to do this after I load a bloodgulch. Making a .sh script helps automate it, but it's still ridiculous that I have to.
That's the file to delete; I had been wondering. The preferences file didn't make a change beside needing to reset preferences; it didn't really "reset" the application.
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

002
Ranger
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:48 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by 002 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:52 am

It's still very annoying that I have to use the right mouse button. I like my old one button mouse; holding down control disables movement buttons and causes objects to translate upwards. I would like a preference for what type of mouse I have:
  • One button mouse
  • Two or Three button mouse

Edit:
New Problem: Cannot select multiple entities. I've tried holding shift which isn't working :(.

Edit 2:
New Problem: Saving destroys the map.

User avatar
Mgalekgolo
Commando
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:36 am

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Mgalekgolo » Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:33 pm

argh its a concept
Yarok wrote:There may be a giant dildo protruding from your forehead.
Image

User avatar
Samuco
Peon
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:39 am

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Samuco » Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:15 pm

And it was never tested/created for PPC.... Once I finish the mod downloader, ill take another look at the wall tool.
Hey, they might even link together *HINT HINT* ----) .````:) :lol: :roll:

Here's another concept: The server program also reads "bloodgulch.mem" which is a new file containing memory modding instructions.
If you choose, all map edits will be saved to bloodgulch.mem in memory modding form. This could then be sent to the clients (as like a 200kb download or something as opposed to 14MB upload). This would only work for maps with scenery changes unless eschaton also implements this.

Code: Select all

Note to modzy:
Eschaton already knows the offset to the different things in the map. The memory offset of something in halos memory is map_magic + offset

User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Sparky » Sat Oct 23, 2010 3:11 pm

I have selection issues, Samuco. Selection is temperamental.
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

User avatar
Ponzu
Operative
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:26 am
Location: where noobs can't come

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Ponzu » Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:18 am

my map doesnt even load LOL
Image
Hi

Samucos

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Samucos » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:03 pm


User avatar
Sparky
Delta Force
Posts: 4194
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:59 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Sparky » Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:12 pm

Ponzu wrote:my map doesnt even load LOL
1. Start with a default bloodgulch.map file first.
2. Use the terminal command above.
Either you are groping for answers, or you are asking God and listening to Jesus.

Samucos

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Samucos » Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:27 am

The terminal command is in the "Swordedit" forum.

User avatar
Ponzu
Operative
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:26 am
Location: where noobs can't come

Re: Concept: Wall tool

Post by Ponzu » Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:10 pm

oww ok thankyou for helps
Image
Hi

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests